Gratitude 053: Parent Volunteers

Elementary school teachers regularly benefit from the help of their students’ parents. I’m always impressed by the time, effort, and energy parents will give for their children’s school. Though I’m not teaching this year, I’ve benefited from parent volunteers in my robotics club. Recently, I’ve been grateful for one parent specifically who has shown great dedication to our club. This parent woke up early last Saturday to attend our competition, an 8am to 3pm affair one hour away. His daughter, who is part of the club, couldn’t even attend! I would give anything for a free Saturday, but this parent cares enough about the students in the club to give up his Saturday to help them succeed. This selfless example of dedication to the students in our club really made an impression on me, and I’m pleased to express this to him with today’s thank you note.

Image: One of our team’s robots from the recent competition

I'd love to hear from you!

