Gratitude 042: Health

I have been so blessed to grow up healthy. It’s been one of the many things I’ve taken for granted in my life. I was lucky to never have to worry about my health as I was younger. Now I’m older and a little more aware of the wider world. I see the prevalence of sickness and various ailments in our world, and I can only be grateful that I’ve never been through a serious health crisis. Because of my good health, I’m insufferable when I’m sick. I whine, I complain, I think about how horrible everything is. I give myself license to basically put everything on hold, because how can you expect to get anything done when you are sick?!

However, I need to remember that every day is like that for so many people who are struggling with chronic illness. Getting out of bed may be a struggle every day. They may have constant pain, headaches, or stomach upset. Still, they persevere and make the best out of what they are given. They fight to not let their sickness define and limit them. I need to celebrate that I have been blessed with good health for a time. I realize now how one’s health can color their entire experience of life, so I commit to appreciating when I am in good health. When I am not well, I need to focus on all of the other things that make life so wonderful. I’ve even begun to catalog them here in these posts. Sure, this is all easier said than done, but a disposition of gratitude continues to change my perspective. Looking for the good in life makes it easier for me to celebrate the good even when things are not-so-good.

Image: Pixabay

I'd love to hear from you!

