Gratitude 033: Hot Showers

One of the many glories of living in an affluent nation is indoor plumbing. The hot shower is often one of the best times of my day. It is a bit of a salve for the pain of having to drag myself from beneath my warm covers. The cozy shower offers a few minutes of peace and comfort to begin the day where one’s mind can wander and free-associate. Apparently it is the warm water, combined with the natural state of the brain in the morning that often produces rare insights into problems with which we have been wrestling. (I first read about this is Jonah Lehrer’s book Imagine, but a general discussion of this idea can be found here.)

Aside from any bursts of creative thoughts I might experience, I do feel genuine appreciation each time I step under the warm flow from the shower head. I often think back to a mission trip to Mexico during which we took “showers” with a cup and bucket of water. The experience wasn’t terrible, since it was 70 degrees and sunny every day, but it sure helped me to appreciate the miracle of hot water cascading over my shoulders and back at the twist of a knob.

And let’s not forget the glory of a hot shower when sick! Bar none the best part of any day with sickness is the shower. Your body is weak, your muscles ache, your throat is scratchy and your nose is either a plugged or leaky faucet. The warm water and steam offer each of those ailments the relief they need for that short period of time.

I know there are so many people who don’t have this luxury on a daily basis. If you are one of the lucky ones who start their days with a hot shower, join me in appreciating each and every one!

What creature comfort are you grateful for today?

Image: “Ahhhhhhhhhhh…,” by me.

I'd love to hear from you!

