Gratitude 031: A Full Night’s Sleep

I should have written this post last night. Post 031. It was the last day of January, the 31st day of the year. Now this post will be published on February 1, completely throwing off my monthly archive! Aaargh! What in the world happened?

I chose sleep.

I was exhausted. I decided that a full (almost) night’s sleep was more important than posting entry 031 on the 31st day of the year. I’m a pretty moody guy, and lack of sleep really exacerbates my moodiness. One night of little sleep, I can be OK. Two nights in a row and things start to get rocky. Three nights in a row and I’m off the rails. I get dark. Depressed. Angry. My body needs sleep, but I don’t often give it what it needs. The time after our son goes to sleep is a precious opportunity to take a breath and get a few moments alone or together with my wife. It’s hard to just call it a day and move on to the next one. I want to squeak out just a little more relax time.

But in the morning, it feels so good! I wake up happy and refreshed, setting the tone for a positive and productive day. I’m more patient with my son, which starts his day off better as well. My brain functions better throughout the day and decisions are easier. It’s the classic case of delayed gratification. Shut it down early and reap the benefits the next morning. It went so well for me today, I might just try going to bed on time again tonight. It’s going to be a great day tomorrow!

Image: Unsplash

I'd love to hear from you!

