Gratitude 020: America

I’m thankful for our country. I’m thankful for the freedoms bestowed upon us by the founders of our nation. I’m thankful for those who fought for our freedoms and continue to fight today to maintain our independence and our way of life. I’m thankful for our democracy and the ability of our nation’s citizens to vote for our leaders. I’m thankful that I live in a nation in which I have the freedom to make my own choices, speak, worship, and assemble freely, and create my own future. I’m hopeful that these freedoms will continue to exist for my son and his children to enjoy as well. I’m thankful for those who stand up for our freedoms and stand guard against those who wish to annul or abolish them. I pray that God would give wisdom to our leaders and that America would continue to be a shining beacon of opportunity and liberty. Nothing in this life is guaranteed, and I’m thankful to the people who work officially and unofficially in the service of our nation to keep it moving forward. Though our immense country is home to people with wildly different backgrounds and opinions, we all want the best for America, and I trust that good will prevail.

Image: The Capitol Building. Taken Aug 15, 2011 by me.

I'd love to hear from you!

