Gratitude 006: Winter Sun

Winter Sun is somewhat of an oxymoron in the Pacific Northwest. We have gorgeous summers in the 70s and 80s, warm enough to be comfortable, but cool enough to keep all the grass green. The rest of the year, we’re socked in by clouds. In fact, Current Results reports from NOAA data that Seattle experiences 226 overcast days a year, a whopping 62% of all days! It’s no wonder that so many people report feeling the effects of Seasonal Affective Disorder around here. Or not. I don’t know that I’ve got a disorder, but these winter months are always tough for me. We get some pretty crummy weather in November every year, as the days get shorter and darker, but the holidays are enough to pull me through. Once Christmas passes, however, it is a long, hard slog through to spring, with not much to look forward to. Forecast: 40 degrees, overcast and drizzle. Day after day. After day. For 3+ months.

This week, though, has been gorgeous. Cold, yes, but gorgeous. You may be used to clear, cold days where you live, but it is a breath of crisp, fresh air around here. And it makes a difference! I’m happier with the sun, and I feel like others are happier, too. We’re enjoying our beautiful outdoors. We’re making eye contact as we pass, as opposed to briskly whisking by, hunched over our Venti something-or-other in order to protect it from the elements. Maybe it’s the weather, or maybe it’s just me. Maybe focusing on what I am grateful for is paying dividends. Maybe my focus on gratitude is freeing up my mind to focus more on the wonderful blue sky and appreciate it as a gift. I should enjoy it while it lasts, because the clouds are coming. When they do, it’ll be OK. There’s so much more to be grateful for!

Featured image: A.J. Montpetit, Stocksnap.io

I'd love to hear from you!

